T-AP Social Innovation Call Awards Announced

Trans-Atlantic Platform Announces 10 Teams to be Awarded Grants in the Social Innovation Call

December 17, 2019 – The Trans-Atlantic Platform (T-AP) for the Social Sciences and Humanities, a collaboration between funders from several different countries, is pleased to announce the awardees of the T-AP Social Innovation Call. A total of approximately €4,966,000 million was awarded to ten international teams to investigate collaborative research projects which will add to understandings of social innovation and deliver social innovations through new research.

The T-AP Social Innovation Call is supported by selected international funders from across the larger T-AP funding network. The participating countries and funding organizations in this call include: Brazil (FAPESP); Canada (SSHRCFRQSC); Finland (AKA); France (ANR); Germany (BMBF/DLR); Poland (NCBR); The Netherlands (NWO); United Kingdom (AHRCESRC). Each of the funded teams include principal investigators and partners from a minimum of three countries, with participation on both sides of the Atlantic. These teams will be pursuing interdisciplinary research on a diverse range of topics related to social innovation, including the arts, environment, sustainable development, history, healthcare, education, youth, housing, social activism and Indigenous research.

The T-AP is a collaboration between key humanities and social science funders and facilitators from South America, North America and Europe (full list of T-AP partners). The Platform aims to enhance the ability of funders, research organizations and researchers to engage in transnational dialogue and collaboration. The T-AP Social Innovation call builds upon past collaborative activities under the T-AP Digging into Data Challenge.

T-AP Social Innovation Call List of Awardees

  • Colonization of the sacred places of the Xavante territory of Marãiwatsédé and São Marcos

Brazil (FAPESP): Cláudia Regina Plens, Universidade Federal de São Paulo

Canada (SSHRC): Ivan Roksandic, University of Winnipeg

Poland (NCBR): Katarzyna Górka, Hirszfeld Institute of Immunology and Experimental Therapy, Polish Academy of Sciences

  • Collaboration for Social Innovation: Scaling for Impact

The Netherlands (NWO): Florian Noseleit, University of Groningen

Canada (SSHRC): Tina Dacin, Queen’s University

Germany (BMBF/DLR): Christine Volkmann, University of Wuppertal

  • Documenting Africans in Trans-Atlantic Slavery

Canada: Paul Lovejoy, York University (SSHRC) and Jean-Pierre Le Glaunec, Université Sherbrooke (FRQSC)

France (ANR): Myriam Cottias, French National Centre for Scientific Research

United Kingdom (AHRC): Sean Kelley, University of Essex

  • New Frontiers in Social Innovation Research: Social Innovation Management for BIOPlastics

Canada (SSHRC): Tammara Soma, Simon Fraser University

United Kingdom (ESRC): Benny Tjahjono, Coventry University

Poland (NCBR): Grażyna Wieteska, University of Lodz; Barbara Ocicka, SGH Warsaw School of Economics

Brazil (FAPESP): Sandra Andrea Cruz, Federal University of São Carlos

  • Social Innovation Processes in and around Multinational Companies: The Role of Social Activists and their Transnational Networks

United Kingdom (ESRC): Tony Edwards, Loughborough University

The Netherlands (NWO): Ayse Saka-Helmhout, Radboud University

Canada (SSHRC and FRQSC): Gregor Murray, Université de Montréal

  • Social Innovation through Participatory Art and Design with Youth at the Margins: Solutions for Engaging and Empowering Youth with Trans-Atlantic Mirroring

Finland (AKA): Satu Miettinen, University of Lapland

Brazil (FAPESP): Maria Cecilia Loschiavo dos Santos, University of São Paulo

Canada (SSHRC and FRQSC): Anne Marchand, Université de Montréal

United Kingdom (ESRC): Paul Wilson, University of Leeds

  • Socially Innovative Interventions to Foster and to Advance Young Children’s Inclusion and Agency in Society through Voice and Story

Finland (AKA): Tuija Turunen, University of Lapland

Canada (SSHRC): Anne Burke, Memorial University of Newfoundland

United Kingdom (ESRC): Mhairi Beaton, Leeds Beckett University

  • Social Pharmaceutical Innovation for Unmet Medical Needs

Canada (SSHRC): Conor Douglas, York University

Brazil (FAPESP): Fernando Aith, Universidade de São Paulo

France (ANR): Vololona Rabeharisoa, ARMINES

Netherlands (NWO): Ellen Moors, Utrecht University

  • User-Valued Innovations for Social Housing Upgrading through Trans-Atlantic Living Labs

Brazil (FAPESP): Doris Catharine Cornelie Knatz Kowaltowski, University of Campinas

Germany (BMBF/DLR): Sigrun Kabisch, UFZ Helmholtz Centre for Environmental Research

The Netherlands (NWO): Clarine van Oel, Delft University of Technology

United Kingdom (ESRC): Patricia Tzortzopoulos Fazenda, University of Huddersfield

  • Worlding Public Cultures: The Arts and Social Innovation

United Kingdom (AHRC): Paul Goodwin, University of the Arts London

Canada: Ming Tiampo, Carleton University (SSHRC) and Alice Ming Wai Jim, Concordia University (FRQSC)

The Netherlands (NWO): Wayne Modest, Vrije Universiteit and Chiara de Cesari, University of Amsterdam

Germany (BMBF/DLR): Monica Juneja, Heidelberg University


T-AP Social Innovation Review Panel

Professor Kim Sawchuk, Concordia University (Chair)

Professor Susan Halford, University of Bristol (Vice-Chair)

Dr. Frans Coenen, University of Twente

Dr. Benoit Desmarchelier, Université de Lille

Professor Jean-Marc Fontan, Université du Québec à Montréal

Professor John Grin, University of Amsterdam

Professor Jeremy Hall, University of Sussex

Dr. Hanna Liberska, Kazimierz Wielki University

Professor Susan Lord, Queen’s University

Professor Leandro Silva Medrano, University of Sao Paulo

Professor Celina M. Olszak, University of Economics in Katowice

Professor Jussi Pakkasvirta, University of Helsinki

Dr. Dieter Rehfeld, Institute for Work and Technology

Professor Katariina Salmela-Aro, University of Helsinki

Dr. Thomas Winzen, University of Essex